Kate's Blog

Books. Running. And other stuffs

Books read on July

I feel a bit guilty that I had not read much in July as I promised, however 3 books were finished. Here they are:

1. The wild sheep chase by Haruki Murakami

My rating: 4/5

Another great story by Haruki Murakami. Although not many people enjoy it, I found it pretty good. For all Vietnamese people, you could find more details on a post here.

A wild sheep chase2. The elephant man by Tim Vicary

My rating: 4/5

A short story tells about an extraordinary man names Joseph Merrick. He has lived for over twenty years with all laugh on every body face whenever people look at him because it is distorted not like everyone else’s, thereby they call him “Elephant man”. His life had been changed ever since he met Doctor Frederick Treves.

This is a true and tragic story. It has also a famous film adaptation.

The elephant man

3. Vango – Between sky and Earth by Timothee De Fombelle

My rating: 3.5/5

This is a novel written by a France author names Timothee De Fombelle. In the begining, running away from accusation of police who blame for a murder, a 19 years old boy names Vango had found the secret of his extraordinary life.

This could be one of most captivate and breathless story I have ever read so far in this year.  I am looking forward to reading the part 2 – Vango – The prince without the kingdom. Though I do not know when I could read it because up till now I have neither found out English nor Vietnamese translation yet, I am so excited to read it.

photo (8)

4.  Animal Kingdom

A painting book for adults. It could tackle your stress and anxiety. I don’t know if I could say this is book because instead of full of words, this only contains picture for “the readers” filling those colors on. I have not finished painted yet either.

Millie Marotta's Animal Kingdom

5. On-going books that I’ve not finished yet: The trial by Franz Kafka, One hundred of solitude by Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez, and Tottochan: The little girl at the window by  Tetsuko Kuroyanagi.

And on the August, I’m reading on 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami and now on chapter 7. I really love it from very beginning, and then I hope it will not disappoint me till the end. Besides, I want to re-read those novels of my favorite author Jeffrey Archer, they are Fall impression and A prisoner of birth. But at least, I will priority to finish 1Q84 and say good bye to H.M’s then.

Thanks, hope you have happy reading on August as well.

Matt

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2015 by in Book Reviews, Bucket Lists and tagged , , , , , , .

Top posts viewers find interest

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

Follow Kate's Blog on WordPress.com
