Kate's Blog

Books. Running. And other stuffs

[Book] My first try with “Animal Kingdom”

This book names Animal Kingdom which I bought as a present for my birthday. Recently, it has been increasingly popular in our country. The first time it was sold out in the market, many people got hooked, so did I.

Introduction from goodreads:

Colouring-in for adults has recently seen a rise in popularity and in France this calming activity is being used to tackle stress and anxiety. Now you can lose yourself in illustrator Millie Marotta’s world of animals, birds and plants, and create your own beautiful pictures.

Millie Marotta grew up in rural Wales surrounded by plants and animals, and her love for wildlife shines through in everything she does. She works from her studio by the sea and draws inspiration from the wonderful wildlife around her.

With this book you can personalize her beautiful illustrations and create an animal kingdom of your own. Millie brings together a collection of enchanting fish, birds, mammals, reptiles, invertebrates and amphibians, as well as plants, trees and flowers.
From the beetle in need of a colourful, iridescent shell, to the whale waiting for a magnificent ocean home, there is a whole world of fauna and flora to explore. All you need are pens, pencils, and a bit of imagination.

So, this is my first try. Although I found it a little bit ridiculous by the way I mixed color, a smile is kept on my face whenever I flip the page in which has stunning and colourful picture. It seems to calm myself down a bit and I could get out of my anxiety and stress in short moment though.

P/s: I will post other pictures if I will done later and think it’s okay then. So I may have an album later. hehe.

By the way, any idea for how to arrange those pictures on wordpress? I haven’t figured out yet.

Parrot 1 parrot 2 parrot 3

photo (16) photo (17) photo (18) photo (19)


Animal kingdom Octopus

5 comments on “[Book] My first try with “Animal Kingdom”

  1. ajoobacats
    August 2, 2015

    It’s definitely addictive, I’m 2/3 of my way through Animal Kingdom and have Animorphia lined up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Matt
      August 2, 2015

      Yeah, I see. Your work is really beautiful. I don’t challenge myself to complete this soon, just wanna paint whenever I wanna do or be too stress from my hectic life. hehe ^^

      Liked by 1 person

      • ajoobacats
        August 2, 2015

        It takes me a day or three to finish a picture, I just get, “in the zone,” when I’m colouring, I don’t colour everyday, perhaps a couple of times a week. The whole point of colouring, for me, was to get away from challenges: no rules no deadlines.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Matt
        August 2, 2015

        For me, it’s not how creative I could be, but how calm down myself is whenever finish a picture, though it took much time. I love to see colorful pictures of whoever might color it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • ajoobacats
        August 2, 2015

        I enjoy the mindfulness of it all, being focussed on something to distract from intrusive and negative thoughts and the sense of closure when I have finished it. I think I have issues with closure.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2015 by in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , .

Top posts viewers find interest

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

Follow Kate's Blog on WordPress.com
