Kate's Blog

Books. Running. And other stuffs

[Book] Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

Norwegian Wood

Author: Haruki Murakami

My rating: 2.5/5

I can’t quite remember when I started reading this book, perhaps 6 months ago, and suddenly put it down since I could not bear the loneliness any longer and it scared and haunted me. Besides, it could cause me many trouble while I was focusing on the important exam. I just ceased it and thought some day I would read all the rest. However, I could’t help but postponed till now when I have a chance. The crazy thing for me was that whenever someone asked me which is the first book of Haruki Murakami I read, I would not hesitate to say it’s Norwegian Wood even I have not complete it yet. Beside, rather writing a review at which I am terrible, I want to share some stories and thoughts related on.

First story is about a question I asked a girl who is younger than mine and a huge fan of Haruki. I asked her what kind of feeling she had and why she read Norwegian wood. She told me about her curiosity of sex that caused me get goosebumps. She read it when she was 18 years old and curious about sex? I have admit that this is the novel of him includes tremendous amount of sex scenes. I can put up with those thing, and it’s normal for all of his books, but to be totally honest, I don’t like it and even got fed up with those stuff. Perhaps, this is the first one I have irriated with.

If I see only into  the plots, I found a lot of craziness, about committing suicide, having sex, depression, serious mental illness…I could recall about 4 people commit suicide: Kizuki, Naoko, her sister, Hatsumi (Nagasawa’s girl friend), and perhaps Storm Trooper (the old roomate of Toru). Not forget to mention about Reiko, 13 years-old lesbian-neibourhood girl of Reiko, Nakawaka, …All I see is those people didn’t live in ordinary way. They did so crazy things at the really young age. And somehow I didn’t feel right about this novel. So, it frightened me when I think about the young readers who didn’t understand what Haruki Murakami wanted to convey. You could feel the serious loneliness and it perhaps caused you kill yourself  later. Yes,Norwegian wood somehow had something that I couldn’t forget.

So, what thing I like and enjoy this book? I like Toru Wanatabe. I laughed along with reading the whole conversation between Midori and Toru. Midori is totally weird girl. Her innocent, frank personality is what I like the most. In addition, I like the music. I am amazed by the books reference: The Great Gatsby, The Magic mountain… And it is really intriguing novel, about psychology, about life, pain and about quiet (but I want to say about the loneliness). I could feel that the music could harmony the whole novel aside from the suffering and sorrow feeling, in which I was interest and did enjoy this book. But needless to say, it is more about psychology.

I am somehow glad that this novel didn’t include any supernatural things, however, what left me behind is the feeling of suffer and abandon. I don’t understand (and really don’t like) the idea of what happen between Reiko and Toru in the last chapter, I got mad instead. Thereby, I didn’t feel relieved after finish the whole novel like I’ve done with other novel of Haruki Murakami so far. But what I want to say, I’m so glad that Toru realized he did love Midori eventually.

Besides, the more I liked Midori, the more I got peeved by Naoko. I felt pity and mad at her. I don’t want to start this because I didn’t comprehend what he mean as building such character like Naoko. I like Storm Trooper too but he vanished out of blue. I admire Nakawaka but also mad at him. What kind of human he is, I have ever thought that.

Finally, I don’t think it’s good idea to re-read this novel in this year. I will give it another try for the next time, and I do hope I will feel it better.

And this is my favorite dialogue (between Midori and Toru)

“I really like you, Midori. A lot.”“How much is a lot?”

“Like a spring bear,” I said.
“A spring bear?” Midori looked up again. “What’s that all about? A spring bear.”
“You’re walking through a field all by yourself one day in spring, and this sweet little bear cub with velvet fur and shiny little eyes comes walking along. And he says to you, “Hi, there, little lady. Want to tumble with me?’ So you and the bear cub spend the whole day in each other’s arms, tumbling down this clover-covered hill. Nice, huh?”
“Yeah. Really nice.”
“That’s how much I like you.”

4 comments on “[Book] Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

  1. Pingback: Book lists on 2015 [Update] | Kate's Blog

  2. Book Guy Reviews
    February 25, 2015

    Interesting thoughts! As a huge Murakami fan, and wasn’t too stoked about this particular novel. If you haven’t already, I recommend reading Kafka on the Shore. Also, check my site tomorrow for a review on his latest book The Strange Library. Feel free to follow, and thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. matt
    February 28, 2015

    @Book Guy Review: I have made plan to finish all of his novels in this year even though I’m not a huge fan of Haruki Murakami. I already did read Kafka on the Shore and The Strange Library. I also enjoy your review if you write it.

    Like

  4. Pingback: [Sách] Rừng Na-uy | Matt's Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2015 by in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , .

Top posts viewers find interest

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

Follow Kate's Blog on WordPress.com
