Kate's Blog

Books. Running. And other stuffs

[Tips] Reading tips for non native English speakers

I love reading books for sure and spend a lot of time to read them everyday. My first language is Vietnamese and English is just second one but I haven’t accomplised it yet. However, I enjoy reading books in English both the original and translated one. Whereas sucessfully taking less time to finish books in my language, I have been dealing with many obstacles with English books. I remember I used to fall asleep instantly and gave up with those books for the first attempt on previous years. I used to say that I should pick up the English books to improve my English also, but I couldn’t do a thing at that time. But 2014 is milestone in my reading habbit. I feel the more I read the original book, the more I can feel and understand it. Even though I have never fully grasped all of the meaning of the lines, sentence, at least I have been able to feel them. I enjoy reading books by that way. However, I have still a problem. Not to mention that there are a lot of new vocabularies in those books, it also includes a lot of meaning if I see them in different angles. I am not good at with description about the landscape, but not to boast myself, I am really quick on the uptake with description about feeling. So, I wonder how I can improve my understanding about the books. So, here is my idea and my experience:

1. Using the English – English dictionary, and I highly recommend Cambridge Learner’s Dictionary or Macmillan Dictionary. I have barely used English – Vietnamese ever since I decided to read English books. Those dictionaries help me a lot and I don’t want to explain into details anymore.

2. With the lines that describe sight, view, things that are not abstract, just google it. Using Google Imagines as much as you can, so you can fully picture them in your mind very well and easily remember it eventually. And searching by voice is really helpful for saving time, and of course improve your pronunciation as well. You will find out how amazing and fast it is. I am sure of it.

For instance: I don’t know meaning of navy – blue color, I google it instead of using my dictionary and reading a long explanation.

3. I also enjoy learning new words and phrase words, idioms. It helps me a lot when I move to the next novel. I use Anki which is an app that helps people recall a lot of things and I use it as my reminder and joyfully learn English everyday.

4. It’s easier to take a translated books for the beginner. Perhaps that’s why I have never fed up reading Haruki Murakami’s books. The translation is superb and easy to understand. But if you choose  to read the original one like Fight Club, or a classical novel, it will take a lot of time and effort and maybe you will easilly give up. So just take the good and easy one for the first attempt.

5. Saving your favorite quotes, lines, dialogues… I always find it hard to remember the story, how I felt it as time gone, so I take some quotes out as highlighting them, or just coppy and paste into another file. It’s also my best way to keep the novel in my mind all the time. When I’d like to recall it, I just open the folder or the page that I think I like. It saves a lot of time, and you will enjoy them more than you thought.

My sharing is not new, but the second tip is really useful for me. If you also find hard in reading English books, just take some tips from me. Hope it can help you guys.

Personal notes: I’m not good at writing also, please bear with me due to a lot of grammatical mistakes.

2 comments on “[Tips] Reading tips for non native English speakers

  1. Pingback: [Tips] Để tập trung đọc sách mỗi ngày | Kate's Blog

  2. hippythefunnygirl
    June 26, 2017

    Thanks so muchh !!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2015 by in Books, Reading Tips, Tips and tagged , , , .

Top posts viewers find interest

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

Follow Kate's Blog on WordPress.com
